Six Plus Size LGBTQ+ Creatives You Should Be Following

Pride positivity coming in many shapes and sizes ❤ much love to the newest blog I'm following 😀

Velveteen Femme

This year, to celebrate Pride I wanted to take some time to highlight some of my favourite plus size LGBTQ+ creatives. The queer community isn’t immune to fatphobia or eurocentric beauty standards, but these influencers have carved out space for themselves & others online, while also using their platforms to demand change on issues like LGBTQ+ youth homelessness, mental illness & police brutality.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In true, self-indulgent style, I also wanted to take some time to chat about my own experiences as a queer, fat femme.

For me, my queerness is about my sexuality but it’s also about so much more. It’s about the way my heart overflows with joy at the depth & breadth of human gender & sexuality; it’s about the pride I feel when I see someone fighting back against oppressive social norms; & it’s about the anger that burns when the most vulnerable & marginalised members of…

View original post 422 more words

2 thoughts on “Six Plus Size LGBTQ+ Creatives You Should Be Following

  1. I agree! Every size is beautiful! I come from a cultural background where thinness is valued, and since I’m more on the chubby side, I had to sit through a lot of comments from other people saying things like: “Oh My Gosh, you’re getting fatter, you should go on a diet”. A lot of these issues should be solved and people should not label others, and she has my full support. Thanks for sharing this! (-stumbled upon your blog by accident btw 🙂 Love it! )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry that you had such experience, I really hope you’re in a better place now!

      To be fair, I doubt my culture was as extreme as yours was. I’ve never felt particularly welcomed by my culture with my plus size body.

      I’m always on the hunt for me bloggers with such a vigor for life, even as plus size!

      Thank you for enjoying my blog, please follow me if you’d like to keep up to date!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

