You Should Listen to Melanin Millennials

You Should MM

I came across Imrie and Satia during a podcast draught. Cleaning a flat down is time consuming and was fresh out of podcasts to keep me company. I found the cute cover art appealing and thought “why not?” and listened.

Eye opening is probably the closest way of describing the podcast; even though I’ve only listened to for a little while, but now I look forward to Wednesdays and that latest episode.

I only really know one black person

Diana; passionate, eloquent, level headed, and determined. I know her secrets, he thoughts, he aims, and passions. She’s one of the few people I truly admire- and she’s the only black person I know.

It’s not out of choice- at one point her father and herself were the only two black people in my rural Lincolnshire town for a few years. When I met her through a mutual friend, we clicked for our mutual love of art, anime, and geeking out. Until Melanin Millennials she was my only point of understanding what a black person has to go through.

One thing that really stuck me was talking to her about hair- especially appointments. As you may have guessed, the backend of Lincolnshire wasn’t really teeming with hairdressers who knew how to handle afro hair. When she pointed out she had to travel over an hour for her hair done I was astonished. The appointment itself wasn’t exactly short either.

What I’m trying to point out is; if you’re in an area with a minimal amount of POC (people of colour), you’re not getting an education in what life is like for them. More importantly the privilege of being white. Podcasts, and other black produced content, highlight the important and trivial matters of life that you’re probably not aware of.

Why do I adore Melanin Millennials?

Thank you for asking, let the list begin;

First off, it’s not for me

It wasn’t produced with me in mind. At all. Being whiter than mayonnaise means that the majority of media is aimed and produced at me. It’s refreshing to take in something that’s not intended for me.

More content of any kind of media needs to come from PoC in general- how else are we going to understand them better, and use that to change things for the better? Using their own voice to vent their issues is far more powerful than if it came from a white person.

Second, the variety of topics

Like I said before, there is so much of black culture and life that I’m ignorant of- so the breadth of the topics is amazing, not only that but how well they handle them. I look forward to hearing them discussing features on things like racism, honestly I can’t think who would do a better job of talking about it.

One of them that really struck me was the reverse racism PoC are facing at the moment, especially Jamela. Here is Jamelia’s wiki if you want to read up but in brief; she’s had a reasonably good music career and now is pretty outspoken about black rights whilst appearing on TV and being a music producer. She’s gotten a lot of flack recently when she spoke out about the selection of black dolls available for children, I think more to the point the amount of non-white dolls. She was accused of ‘reverse racism’, which as the ladies on the podcast pointed out, is basically admitting you’re racist but trying to put the blame on the person who accused you.

Of course parents with PoC children want to see their children playing with toys, dolls or otherwise, that actually resemble them. Toys are the basis of social interaction- if there isn’t one that looks like you, how are you supposed to interpret that?

You Should MM.png

Third, they never fail to make me smile

From Petty Side Eye, the hilarious Head to Head, and of course BlackTwitter to name a few- the podcast is pretty well constructed and never fails to make me laugh.

My favourite has to be Melanin Magic; it celebrates black people whose achievements would otherwise go unrecognised- especially in the white dominated media. Ranging from; MPs breaking up the whiteness of Parliament, designers breaking into the big leagues, to the newly knighted. These are just a few of the latest ones. Hearing the progress and milestones achieved by these people just makes me feel a bit more positive about the world.

The guests have wonderful chemistry with the ladies as well, like Saschan Fearon-Josephs, Ain’t I A Wombman?, had me laughing and cringing throughout the hourish long episode. Saschan is a wonderful example of their guests; eloquent with thought out arguments, her passion and knowledge highlighting what she wanted to say, not to mention her sense of humour.

Fourth, Imrie and Satia!

Imrie and Satia, the ladies of Melanin Millennials
Imrie and Satia, the ladies of Melanin Millennials

Podcasts can get dull if the presenters don’t enjoy or care much about the subject. The ladies of Melanin Millennials exude passion and charisma- I look forward to hearing their voices!

Imrie and Satia are the perfect hosts! They lend their own experiences to the topics at hand, their thoughts, and the random things that come to mind.

Other than their sense of humour, what really elevates them is the grace they handle topics. For example in the one above, Ain’t I A Wombman, when they discussed in detail about sexual health they were so sensitive and supportive of the issues that Saschan had gone through.

Fifth, it’s education

One thing that came up in Reni Eddo-Lodge appearance, Black Women Are So Loud, was that it’s not PoC responsibility to sit down and instruct white people. White people need to go out and find this information themselves. To sit down and learn it by their own volition.

It’s not hard to listen to a podcast once a week and widen your understanding.

Which is why I can’t recommend this podcast enough.

So, where are they?

The podcast app I’m using, Pocket Casts, had them already- a simple case of searching, but I assume they’re available through most podcast apps and iTunes.

If you’re struggling, or prefer to stream straight from them, this is the Sound Cloud account; Melanin Millennials.

When it comes to podcasts, I know some people like to dive right in and others want to have a taste from some prior episodes. The one I started on is Thrown Under the Bus ft. The Slumflower; it’s got all the elements that I’ve highlighted above. A perfect starting point if you want to get to know the Melanin Millennials in my eyes.

If you want to find them on Twitter the podcast’s account is @MelaninMille, Imrie is @ImiMorgan, and Satia is @ImpassionedDias. Great follows in my mind, they’re just as funny and outspoken on Twitter- and I have to admit to liking and RTing a lot of their tweets.

17 thoughts on “You Should Listen to Melanin Millennials

  1. Thanks for the post! I’m considered a poc (I’m a dark Asian dude), but for some reason, I never really liked that term. It sets me apart and is actually too similar to the other phrase (just drop a word and rearrange it). That’s just me though. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I must admit I was agonising over the use of “black” and “POC” I think in some points referencing specifically black areas POC felt too general. I’m always open to new suggestions for a more suitable word!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like your open-mindedness. Can you believe some people attack me for even suggesting that POC rubs some people the wrong way? I think ethnic minority seems appropriate? For blacks I think blacks is perfectly fine. There’s really nothing degrading about the term. Just like addressing whites. Asians did get lucky though for being able to all fall under the Asia umbrella. Just my 2 cents. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. This is the thing there are so many races that there will never be a catch all term over than humans! I’m still nervous with PoC, it’s respectful and all but it’s still basically saying “everyone who isn’t white in that category”.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah. Please don’t get upset, I think you’re absolutely right that you should be nervous about PoC. It is a no-no in my book. It’s very wrong to say C’ed Person. So it basically translates to the same thing in my mind. That’s why I like ethnic minority. It encapsulates everyone that’s not in the majority (which is to say white people because they make up 70%+ of US population). Again, if you’re targeting black people. Black people makes sense. Same with white people, Asian people, Middle Eastern people… and if you want you can drill down from there. European people, African blacks, Jamaicans, etc. It is hard, but it’s hard to get offended by scientific terminology or actual demographic terms. At least I think?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh true, I think for the most part putting yourself into another culture’s position rarely happens. Whether it’s like me, learning more about the black community, or a Indian person taking the time out to understand Japanese culture. I think it’s always find well spent to broaden your mind!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds so interesting – thank you for sharing. Unfortunately some people are ignorant – and some are only not knowing. The second kind will be helped by podcasts and blogposts like this. I live like you in a town were the most “exotic” person is a Scot living here since his own childhood – I was not aware of those topics until now. Thank you again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

