Wednesday Wisdom | 090817

"If there's a book you really want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it." Toni Morrison

“If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” Toni Morrison

As part of Book Lover’s Day today, the 9th of August, I knew a writer would be the best person to quote for Wednesday Wisdom. At first, I went through the usual suspects;

  • Tolkien
  • CS Lewis
  • Mark Twain

So many to choose from! If you’re new to my blog and you’re wondering where The Bard is, let me direct you to Shakespeare Sundays! Part way through musing who to choose I stopped and actually said out loud…

These are old white dudes!

The most logical thing to do was to stop and look for something different- which is one of the reasons I do Wednesday Wisdom. I found a great blog from a few years ago with a selection of quotes from black female writers; 33 Brilliant Quotes from Legendary Black Women Writers from Our Legaci a wonderful place that celebrates black culture.

This is how I came across this wonderful quote by Toni Morrison- to be frank, this is the first time I’ve come across her. Rather hoping my ignorance of her is due to the fact she’s American- as my knowledge reaches just the “Great American Classics” rather than anything new, so again old white dudes.

Morrison has contributed to literature an awe inspiring amount. Her published works start in 1970, with The Bluest Eye, and continue with the latest 2015, with God Help the Child, Morrison has had successful forays into children’s literature, non fiction, short fiction, and even a play. Honestly, the more I read the more I’m annoyed this is the first time I’ve heard of her, her Wikipedia page is very enlighting.

What I love about her quote, which has been confirmed by all that I now know, but Morrison has not only said it but taken it to heart. As I said before, in You Should Listen to Melanin Millennials, more media needs to be produced by black voices and needs to be picked up by as many people as ever. The white community needs to know of the experiences and hardships of the black, and other POC communities, now and historically.

So please, today, instead of relying on the stalwart white, male, and old authors and characters- let us think of and celebrate wonderful black authors that often go unappreciated outside of the black community.

Leave a Reply

